Biography

UnknownGregor Bühl gained international attention when he launched the highly-acclaimed new “Ring des Nibelungen” cycle at the Royal Opera House in Stockholm. His interpretation was enthusiastically received by audience and press alike. The entire production was recorded and broadcast by Swedish Television, and is available on DVD. In Stockholm he has also conducted “Tristan und Isolde”, “Samson et Dalila” and a gala concert at the award ceremony of the Birgit Nilsson Prize, awarded to Placido Domingo by the King of Sweden, thus reinforcing his strong connection with this opera house. In 2012 he returned to the Royal Opera Stockholm for a new production of Bartók’s “Bluebeard’s Castle“ and “Trouble in Tahiti“ by Leonard Bernstein.

Gregor Bühl’s 16/17 season started with performance series of Cenerentola, Rigoletto and Pique Dame at Hamburg Opera. Other highlight of the season will be CD productions with Deutsche Radio Philharmonie and Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie and revivals of Elisir d’amore in Hamburg and Tosca at Staatsoper Stuttgart.

Maestro Bühl has appeared as a guest conductor at the Hamburg State Opera, Stuttgart Opera, Leipzig Opera, Frankfurt, Opera, the Opéra National de Montpellier, the Teatro Colòn Buenos Aires, the Semperoper Dresden (where he conducted the rarely performed Strauss’ revision of Mozart’s “Idomeneo”), and the Deutsche Oper Berlin. In January 2009  made his North American debut with “Fidelio” at the Canadian Opera Company Toronto. He regularly collaborates with the Hannover State Opera, where he has conducted several new productions in recent seasons, including, in 2013, the German premiere of Manfred Trojahn’s “Orest”.

Recent concert engagements have presented him extensively in Germany, Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and the Middle East, working with: the Radio Symphony Orchestras in Berlin, Hamburg, Hilversum and Hannover; with the Finnish and Danish Radio Orchestras; with the Israel Philharmonic, Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig, Staatskapelle Weimar, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Düsseldorf Symphony, Munich Symphony and the Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland Pfalz.

His first conducting appointment was as GMD Gerd Albrecht’s assistant at the Hamburg State Opera, before being chosen for the position of 1. Kapellmeister at the Hannover State Opera, in 1995. During the six years he worked at this house he conducted a broad operatic repertoire, encompassing not only the major German and Italian operas, but also important contemporary works.

Available recordings include a CD of American Clarinet Music, with Sharon Kam and the London Symphony Orchestra and, with Sharon Kam and the MDR Symphony Orchestra, a selection of works by Mendelssohn, Spohr and Rossini.

Gregor Bühl was born in 1964 and started his conducting studies at the Musikhochschule in Düsseldorf with Wolfgang Trommer. He participated in master classes with Ferdinand Leitner, Gary Bertini and Gerd Albrecht. In 1995, he was awarded the second prize of the Nikolai Malko Conductors Competition in Copenhagen, and in 1993, the culture prize of Berenberg Bank in Hamburg. He also received scholarships from “Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben” and “DAAD”.
Since April 2016 he is teaching as Professor at the Opera Academy in Oslo (www.KHiO.no)

Biographie

UnknownMit seiner Neueinstudierung des “Der Ring des Nibelungen” Zyklus an der Königlichen Oper Stockholm gewann Gregor Bühl internationale Aufmerksamkeit. Seine Interpretation dieser Werke wurde von Publikum und Presse gleichermaßen enthusiastisch aufgenommen. Die gesamte Produktion wurde vom schwedischen Fernsehen aufgezeichnet und ausgestrahlt und ist auf DVD erhältlich. Dirigate von „Tristan und Isolde“ und „Samson et Dalila“, die feierlichen Zeremonie anläßlich der Überreichung des Birgit Nilsson Preises durch den schwedischen König an Placido Domingo, sowie die Einstudierungen von Bartoks „Herzog Blaubarts Burg“ und Leonard Bernsteins „Trouble in Tahiti“ setzten die enge Beziehung zur Königlichen Oper Stockholm fort.

Die Spielzeit 16/17 begann mit Aufführungsserien von Cenerentola, Rigoletto und Pique Dame and der hamburgischen Staatsoper. Weitere Höhepunkte der Saison werden CD-Produktionen mit der Deutschen Radio Philharmonie und der Deutschen Staatsphilhamonie, eine Wiederaufnahme von Elisir d’amore an der hamburgischen Staatsoper und eine Wiederaufnahme von Tosca an der Staatsoper Stuttgart sein.

Ein weiteres, wichtiges Engagement war sein Nordamerika Debüt, das er im Januar 2009 an der Canadian Opera Company in Toronto mit “Fidelio” gegeben hat. Gastdirigate führten ihn 2011 u.a. an die Hamburgische Staatsoper, die Opéra National de Montpellier und das Teatro Colòn Buenos Aires. Auch an der Semperoper Dresden – wo er die selten aufgeführte Strauss Bearbeitung von Mozarts Idomeneo dirigierte – , der Deutschen Oper Berlin, der Oper Leipzig. Eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit verbindet Gregor Bühl ferner mit dem Staatstheater Hannover, wo er in den vergangenen Spielzeiten mehrere Neuproduktionen leitete, darunter 2013 die deutsche Erstaufführung von Manfred Trojahns „Orest“.

Ausgedehnte Konzertverpflichtungen führten ihn nach Deutschland, Skandinavien, Osteuropa und den Mittleren Osten, wo er u.a. mit den Radiosinfonieorchestern von Berlin, Hamburg, Hilversum und Hannover, ebenso wie mit den finnischen und dänischen Radioorchestern arbeitete. Weitere Dirigate führten ihn zum Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Gewandhaus Orchester Leipzig, der Staatskapelle Weimar, dem Trondheim Sinfonie Orchester, den Düsseldorfer Sinfonikern, Münchner Sinfonikern und der Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland Pfalz.

Seine erste Dirigierverpflichtung hatte er als Assistent von Gerd Albrecht an der hamburgischen Staatsoper, bevor er 1995 als Erster Kapellmeister an das Staatstheater Hannover ging. Während der sechs Jahre, die er diesem Haus verbunden war, dirigierte er ein breitgefächertes Repertoire, das nicht nur die großen deutschen und italienischen Opern, sondern auch wichtige zeitgenössische Werke umfasste.

Mit Sharon Kam und dem London Symphony Orchestra hat er eine CD mit amerikanischen Werken für Klarinette aufgenommen. Eine Einspielung ausgewählter Werke von Mendelssohn, Spohr und Rossini liegt mit Sharon Kam und dem MDR Sinfonie Orchester vor.

Gregor Bühl wurde 1964 geboren und begann sein Dirigentenstudium an der Düsseldorfer  Musikhochschule bei Wolfgang Trommer. Er nahm an Meisterkursen bei Ferdinand Leitner, Gary Bertini und Gerd Albrecht teil. 1995 wurde ihm der zweite Preis des Nikolai Malko Dirigierwettbewerbes in Kopenhagen verliehen und 1993 der Kulturpreis der Berenberg Bank in Hamburg. Von der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben und DAAD erhielt er Stipendien.
Seit April 2016 unterrichtet er als Professor an der Opernhochschule in Oslo (www.KHiO.no)